Black Stars seeded for 2014 World Cup qualifiers
Posted on: 2011-Jul-27        
  Email to a Friend   Print Format
Ghana will join the qualifying for the 2014 World Cup in the second round stage after being seeded for the African qualifiers.

The continent's qualifiers will begin with a first round and it comes after Fifa unveiled its latest monthly rankings on Wednesday.

The Black Stars, 2010 World Cup quarter-finalists are in Pot 1 together Ivory Coast, Egypt, Burkina Faso, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Cameroon, Algeria and Tunisia.

The pool includes the top 10 countries in the latest Fifa rankings released on Wednesday.

The Black Stars will draw an opponent each from the rest of the three pots to form one of the ten groups in second round of the qualifiers.

The 2014 World Cup qualifying draw will be held on Saturday in Rio de Janeiro.

A total of five Afican nations will qualify for the 2014 World Cup.


Pot 5 (countries ranked 29-40): Mozambique, Democratic Republic of Congo, Togo, Liberia, Tanzania, Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, Ethiopia, Namibia, Burundi, Madagascar

Pot 6 (ranked 41-52): Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Chad, Swaziland, Comoros Islands, Lesotho, Eritrea, Somalia, Djibouti, Mauritius, Seychelles, Sao Tome e Principe

The 12 countries in Pot 5 will be drawn against the 12 from Pot 6, who will play at home first. Aggregate winners from November's two-legged ties will advance to the second round.


Pot 1 (ranked 1-10): Ivory Coast, Egypt, Ghana, Burkina Faso, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Cameroon, Algeria, Tunisia

Pot 2 (ranked 11-20): Gabon, Libya, Morocco, Guinea, Botswana, Malawi, Zambia, Uganda, Mali, Cape Verde Islands

Pot 3 (ranked 21-28 plus two others): Benin, Zimbabwe, Central African Republic, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Niger, Angola, The Gambia plus two first round pairings

Pot 4: the remaining 10 qualifiers from the first round

The 10 four-team groups will be formed by drawing together one team from each pot and each country plays three opponents at home and away.

The matches will start in June 2012 and conclude in September 2013.


A draw will split the 10 group winners into five two-leg ties, with the aggregate winners qualifying for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

The first leg of these decisive matches will take place in October 2013, concluding a month later.

Brazil will host the competition from 12 June - 13 July 2014.